FAWM 2018: a good excuse to write new music

Last year, I wrote 16 tracks as part of FAWM, an annual songwriting challenge where the goal is to write 14 tracks in 28 days.

This year, I’m a couple of days late posting my first tracks (compared to last year, anyway), but I’ve made a start. Here’s my FAWM profile with links to the new tracks.

I was really pleased with the tracks I wrote last year, which I used for a new album – “Ten“. That album is exactly as it was once FAWM 2017 ended. I didn’t add or remove any tracks, reorder the sequence, or edit any of the music.

When I got started this year, I was a bit rusty. It took a few tries to come up with the first track (Synthrock), which I wasn’t completely happy with – but with a time-based challenge, there isn’t a lot of time to procrastinate. So I thought it best to finish the first track, and get on with the show. I’m happier with the second track (Psionetrics) and this should help keep my motivation up.

I find that FAWM is a great way to write new music – I only wish I hadn’t had ten years away (between 2007-2017).

Leave a comment